Board of Trustees


  • 7:00 p.m.
  • Second Monday of each month at the Village Office located at
    922 Sherman Street
    Potter, Nebraska 69156

Current Trustees

  • Joe Borla- Chairman (Elected through 2020)
  • Edward Revord- Vice Chairman (Elected through 2020)
  • John Herboldsheimer- Trustee (Elected through 2022)
  • Mark Monheiser- Trustee (Elected through 2022)
  • Melanie Rotert- Trustee (Elected through 2020)

Board Overview

The Board of Trustees is composed of five members elected at large to four year terms. One council member is elected by a vote of the council with a second member elected as Vice Chairman of the Board. The Board meets the second Monday of each month at the Village Office and otherwise as necessary.

The Board of Trustees is the legislative division of the municipal government and Trustees are expected to maintain the peace, regulate business, protect the public health and safety, and assess such taxes and fees as necessary and appropriate in the exercise of these functions.

The Board of Trustees establishes Village policy, enacts ordinances, authorizes budgetary appropriations, and appoints the municipal officer as required by law each December. Every Trustee takes an oath to support the Constitution of the United States, and the Constitution of the state, and faithfully and impartially discharge the duties of its office.

Eligibility Requirements and Deadlines to Be a Trustee

Any person who is a citizen of the United States, a resident of the village at the time of the election, and a registered voter may be eligible to be elected to the Board of Trustees. Every Trustee elected will hold office for a term of four years, unless a Trustee changes their residence from the village at which point their office will become vacant immediately.

One council member is elected by a vote of the council to be the Chairman with a second member elected as Vice-Chairman of the Board. Trustees are elected every four years at the General Election in November.  To be on the General Election Ballot Incumbent candidates must file by July 15, and all others candidates must file by August 1 during the year of the General Election.